Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > why build when u can buy complete?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2011, 08:07 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default why build when u can buy complete?

Guys I'm very new to AR and am wondering why I would build one instead of just buying a complete set up....

"...rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm." /G\

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-26-2011, 08:50 PM   #2

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Depending on what you are buying, there is about $100-200 to be saved by assembling your own rifle, plus you get to pick the individual components that go into your rifle. Unless you are a very experienced AR person or are willing to do a very large amount of research, picking your own components can be problematic though. While the AR-15 is a modular weapon system, not all components will work well with each other.

Old 11-26-2011, 09:27 PM   #3

Liked 109 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 6

A good way to start and what quite a few AR owners have done is order a complete upper from one place and then order a stripped lower, a lower parts kit (lpk), and a stock assembly from other places. You assemble the lower, (not difficult), then attach it to the upper. You gain the knowledge of how the lower goes together and how it works, and you save the 11% federal excise tax imposed on a complete weapon.