Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   Why Build? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/why-build-39977/)

easterner123 03-19-2011 03:32 AM

Why Build?

I am looking for an entry level AR with a 20" barrel, .223/ 5.56x45mm. Now, with the 20" barrel, is a 1/7 twist rate better or a 1/9 with modern ammo like M193 or M855.

Back to the main question, during my research, I have found that a lot of kits end up costing as much as an already assembled rifle. Is it more economical to build a rifle, and can one be built cheaper than $800? No bells or whistles, just a plain jane sweet 16. What are the advantages and disadvantages of building an AR?

NOTE: I have zero gunsmithing experience, but have access to a gunsmith in the family that could help me with the build.

Gojubrian 03-19-2011 03:41 AM

Excellent question. I've been mulling it over myself. I figured on just buying the whole rifle because I'm a lazy butt.

Here are some reasons for me.

1. Get the features YOU want.
2. Experience, you'll learn while you build!
3. Satisfaction. I would feel better about the gun knowing the thought and work I personally put into it.

NitroxAZ 03-19-2011 03:50 AM

You do not need gunsmithing skills. If you are fairly handy, you can do it. Look at the stickies in this section and it will guide you through the process. Besides, what is cooler than building your own gun?

556plinker 03-19-2011 04:22 AM