Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Whats your opinion of DPMS?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2009, 01:24 AM   #91
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

[QUOTE=MemphisJim1;199730] DPMS is now owned by a venture capital firm, Cerberus Capital, which also now owns Remington, Marlin and some other well-known firearms-related brands. QUOTE]

Yep...you forgot BUSHMASTER

Old 12-19-2009, 03:23 AM   #92

For a first rifle DPMS is a good choice. my first was DPMS after that i went RRA lower a built one from there. DPMS is abundant so someone is buying them.

Old 12-29-2009, 07:28 PM   #93

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

New guy here. I've been shooting AR's for about 3 years or so now. I started out with a DPMS Panther Bull 20 Fluted in .223. Right off the bat I was super impressed with it's accuracy and functioning. I was kind of old school and didn't believe a Semi Auto would run with 100% reliability and shoot 1/2 MOA Groups from a bench.

Well that DPMS was a tad heavier and longer than what I had envisioned, so I ended up selling it and replacing it with a Bushmaster 16" M4 ORC (which I still have). This Bushmaster was much better suited to my needs (carrying it in my Patrol Vehicle as well as a Coyote Calling Rifle).

However I missed my Bull Barrel DPMS so recently acquired a replacement. This one is a DPMS Panther Bull 20 .223. So far I have not had a single issue with it. I guess I can't imagine a better gun for the $$$.

On a different note I know 3 other officers that own, carry and use DPMS AR's and have not had a single issue with them.