What's a good starter barrel?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > What's a good starter barrel?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2012, 04:34 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default What's a good starter barrel?

Greetings forum!

This is my first post of what I believe will be many. I am just getting into the gun field with an AR-15. I pick up my lower this Saturday! For those that are curious, it's a(n) S&W M&P15 stripped lower.

Anyways, I'm unsure of where to find a barrel. There are so many out there! What brands are of decent quality for a starter? I don't want total garbage because I do plan on keeping this barrel for a while before I upgrade it again.

Here's what I know I want so far:

1. 20" Rifle barrel
2. Threaded
3. Front sight doesn't matter as I'm going to replace it with an aftermarket gas block. (I don't have a specific gas block in mind yet, so size [diameter] doesn't have a factor at this point)
4. Looking for a reputable place; preferably a place where you guys/gals have done business with in the past.
5. Obviously I'm looking into a budget barrel, I'm pretty sure I can't afford a match-barrel ;P lol

There's basically what I'm looking for. So if you can point me in the right direction I'd be grateful!

Thanks in advance!
-PeeceKeeper

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-16-2012, 05:45 PM   #2

Liked 1133 Times on 737 Posts
Likes Given: 2021

http://palmettostatearmory.com/index.php/ar-15-05/rifle-kits/20-hammer-forged-a2-profile-chrome-lined-rifle-kit.html