What's the best ar for the money
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > What's the best ar for the money

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2012, 04:31 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default What's the best ar for the money

I'm kinda new at becoming a fun enthusiast or a gun nut as I like to say I've found out real quick its a very expensive habit. My question is for the money hands down what is the best ar for the money and should I go with 7.62 or 223 and what about if I waned to build my own is it worth it or should I buy one ready for the range
Thanks to whoevers willin to throw some input my way

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-18-2012, 03:29 PM   #2

Liked 2181 Times on 1472 Posts
Likes Given: 1191

If its your 1st i'd say buy one ready to shoot in 5.56/223.
I've always been a DPMS fan but theres a ot of great AR builders
I strongly suggest a flat top----

Texan By Birth & Choice
USMC/VIET NAM VET

Old 07-18-2012, 03:52 PM   #3

Liked 3142 Times on 1874 Posts
Likes Given: 2190

i'm new to AR's, but i guess it helps to hear from folks with all levels of experience.

retail, in the $800-1200 price range, there are going to be so many choices its mind boggling. you should get some good feedback on this board, as many of the posters here really know their stuff.

many say they you can order & build your own high quality AR for $700-900, and save money vs purchasing off the shelf. i really have no expertise in this matter, it would be better for others to advise you here.