what is pin size? - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > what is pin size?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2012, 03:37 PM   #11
Lifetime Supporting Member
FTF_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 8456 Times on 4899 Posts
Likes Given: 11022

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dillinger View Post
I believe Colt's bigger pin size were for the Takedown and Pivot pins, effectively making it impossible for you to assemble an "other" lower and slap a Colt upper on it.

I am not a Colt expert (or fan ) so I can't say for certain but I do believe that they only did this on those two pins, for a short period in production time, and that it did not effect your other pins.

As such I believe you are good to go Viking - you can always check and see if the trigger has any slop to it. If you shake the lower and it rattles like a baby toy, you have a problem.

JD
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quentin View Post
If the hammer/trigger pins are the large size they won't slide in a milspec stripped receiver. If they did fit you must have .154"pins from a fairly new or very old Colt.

ETA:
If you used small pins on the large hammer and trigger to make them fit then yes you have a problem.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quentin View Post
BTW, Colt went to the large pins before the 1994 AWB hoping to distinguish its commercial ARs from military/LE. Their argument was the large pin "sporter" models would not accept triggers and uppers from "evil" ARs. Didn't work of course and caused needless headaches. They went back to milspec size after the ban sunset.
I was under the impression that the takedown pins were the only ones that differed in size, but I was wrong. The parts I have have the .250" takedown pins but the larger .171" trigger pins. I picked up some of the smaller pins at a LGS but didn't think about the trigger being the same .032" size holes (facepalm).