Wanting to build my first AR!
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Wanting to build my first AR!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2011, 03:35 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Wanting to build my first AR!

So I made a post yesterday about buying an affordable AR, but after much deliberation I have decided to take a shot and build my own, start a new hobby. However I have no knowledge of building one.

Could someone please point me in the right direction? Tell me what terms and whatnot I need to know? What tools I need to buy? What kind of permits or licenses I need to get (or if I even need to, I live in Idaho) and how to go about getting those? Any help appreciated! Thanks

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-10-2011, 05:08 PM   #2

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Well first I'd get familar with all the parts in the AR and how it works. There are a few stickies of other members building ARs you could read through those and ask any questions if you have some

"It's not how big your stick is, it's how hard you swing it."

"When a man lies, he murders some part of the world.
These are the pale deaths which men miscall their lives.
All this I cannot bear to witness any longer.
Cannot the Kingdom of Salvation take me home?"

Old 11-10-2011, 05:34 PM   #3

Liked 3735 Times on 1824 Posts
Likes Given: 13269

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redarrow18 View Post
Well first I'd get familar with all the parts in the AR and how it works. There are a few stickies of other members building ARs you could read through those