Very bad first experience with my AR - Need some help
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Very bad first experience with my AR - Need some help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2009, 12:11 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Very bad first experience with my AR - Need some help

Yesterday I took my "new to me" AR to the range for some tests, sighting in, and just target practice.

Bear in mind when reading/replying that I'm very new to this and this is the first time I've shot a rifle like this.

I had HORRIBLE jams, every second or third round was jammed. The rangemaster came over and told me my gun just needed oil and he oiled the heck out of the bolt area and worked it in well.
Same exact result.

He then told me it was my aftermarket mag. Used three different mags, including the factory mag
Same result

He then told me it was because of the cheap Brown Bear that I was shooting.

Loaded up with good quality Remingtons in 2 different mags.
You guessed it, same result.

He said the cheap ammo caused it until I informed him the first two mags were both high quality brass.
At this point he admitted he was stumped. He seemed like a very knowledegable and helpful guy and he gave up.

So, we ended up shooting my friends M1A1, some trap and some .22 plinking but I have a very sour taste in my mouth about my gun to the point that I want to sell it.

It's a Century lower with a full Colt upper. Fixed carry handle, stock butt, etc. Basically a very entry level AR, but with good enough core parts that I shouldn't be having these problems.

So, what do you guys suggest I do first? I'm planning on stripping and cleaning it tonight, but I won't be able to test fire it again until later this week. Is this common?

Thanks
Jim

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!