Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Upper reciever problems, need help!!! smh!!!!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 10:59 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Likes Given: 1

Default Upper reciever problems, need help!!! smh!!!!

okay so i have a bush master carbine that is "carbon" and when i say carbon i mean its not the usual forged aluminum.. i bought a yhm free float and the barrel nut that came with the yhm is a tad smaller than the barrel nut that was on the ar..so with that in mind are there different sized barrel nuts or is it just because it a carbon receiver and not the aluminum??? My next question is should i just buy a new receiver or try a different barrel nut and will my barrel fit in a new different receiver?? im so pissed, i was excited to put this bushy together and now im at a dead end with this damn barrel nut b.s.

You guys help me a lot so far i could only think to come here and hope for the best resolution!! Any good receivers around $100??? i have a few in mind like yhm, del-ton, rra but just figured id ask

Last edited by magnum05; 12-06-2012 at 11:01 PM. Reason: forgot a question

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-06-2012, 11:47 PM   #2

Liked 127 Times on 96 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Barrel nut threads should be all the same on the ar15 platform, unless Bushmaster pulled a proprietary FU, do you have a dial caliper? Measure inside radius of the nuts.

Be sure to lubricate the threads with good oil AFTER cleaning them WELL.