troy or rra - Page 2
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > troy or rra

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2011, 03:52 AM   #11
Supporting Member
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2980 Times on 1451 Posts
Likes Given: 1505

Jon

Shouldn't have to take it off to clean since the front end is open and that will give you adequate access to clean. If nothing else you can spray break and parts cleaner back in there and then use Hoppes or other solvent on a rod with a large patch. Then use something like G-96 to spray in an re-lube everything. That is how I clean my units with the free float quad rails.

Old 11-22-2011, 03:57 AM   #12
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 6346 Times on 3363 Posts
Likes Given: 469

im new to the free float thing. ive had sudden storms dump on me out hunting and i like to be able to get to the barrel easy to prevent rust. maybe im a little paranoid

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

"I crapped my pants to avoid the draft!!" -Ted Nugent

Old 11-22-2011, 06:55 PM   #13

Liked 1105 Times on 776 Posts
Likes Given: 1116

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonM View Post
im new to the free float thing. ive had sudden storms dump on me out hunting and i like to be able to get to the barrel easy to prevent rust. maybe im a little paranoid
That's a good point, Jon. I like being able to remove handguards quickly to get to the barrel. But I know these things get abused more than I'll ever do and keep on going...

______