Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > traded for an AR-10 today.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2011, 11:38 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: zephyrhills,florida
Posts: 38
Default traded for an AR-10 today.

got a pre ban armalite in 308. almost didn't trade as it isn't a flat top. anyone have
any idea on cost to machine off the handle and drill and install a picatinny rail?
have a 3x12x50 scope to put on it. will match my ar-15 then. 2 black guns, I"m in heaven. well, the armalite is green but what the hell.

__________________
deadworm is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 04-16-2011, 11:52 PM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mjkeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wichita,Kansas
Posts: 4,026
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

Default

It would be much cheaper to swap it out w/ a flat top upper.

__________________
mjkeat is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 11:59 PM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
dog2000tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,309
Liked 3734 Times on 1824 Posts
Likes Given: 13269

Default

I would think it to be easier and cheaper to just swap out the upper for a new flat top. By doing this you wouldn't ruin the value of the rifle and you could always change it back.

__________________

Member: NRA GOA

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Est sularas oth mithas

"either way, you were guilty by association, so you were smited...." JD

dog2000tj is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 02:59 AM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: hannibal,NY
Posts: 133
Likes Given: 2

Default

they do make rail mounts that go onto the carry handle so you can put a scope mounted to the handle... the scope does sit pretty high though

__________________
shnorse is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 04:43 AM   #5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Quentin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,475
Liked 949 Times on 671 Posts
Likes Given: 942

Default

Terrible, terrible idea to cut off the integrated carry handle! It's needed for structural integrety of an A2 style upper. Like others said, replace the upper receiver instead.

__________________

______
The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together. You'll remember the quality of a gun long after you forget how much you paid for it.
________________________________________
US Army 1966-69, VFW Life Member, Retired Geek

Quentin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 12:44 PM   #6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
MOshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Show Me State
Posts: 1,474
Liked 648 Times on 425 Posts
Likes Given: 1313

Default

Congrats on your purchase!!
As others said it will be much more cost effective to just purchase a new upper with a flat top

__________________
MOshooter is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 01:05 AM   #7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: zephyrhills,florida
Posts: 38
Default ar-10 trade

dont see how spending 7 to 900+ is "cost effective" when the mod will be less than 150. dow arms tells me removing handle and installing a picatinny not that rare of a job. that seems to be the way flatops began.
decided to just put a compact scope on a utg mount and try it for awhile.
thanks for the advice though guys.

__________________
deadworm is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 02:43 AM   #8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
dog2000tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,309
Liked 3734 Times on 1824 Posts
Likes Given: 13269

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadworm View Post
dont see how spending 7 to 900+ is "cost effective" when the mod will be less than 150.
I don't know where your getting your $$'s from but here's a direct link to Armalite for a new upper receiver - AR10 A4 UPPER RECEIVER ASSY FORWARD ASSIST

If you want cheaper option here's a DPMS upper - Online Store — DPMS: AR-15 Rifles, Parts and Accessories.

Either way, good luck
__________________

Member: NRA GOA

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Est sularas oth mithas

"either way, you were guilty by association, so you were smited...." JD

dog2000tj is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 02:57 AM   #9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mjkeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wichita,Kansas
Posts: 4,026
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

Default

I think he thought we meant complete upper when we said to replace the upper.

__________________
mjkeat is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 03:10 AM   #10
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
dog2000tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,309
Liked 3734 Times on 1824 Posts
Likes Given: 13269

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjkeat View Post
I think he thought we meant complete upper when we said to replace the upper.
Ah ha, makes more sense
__________________

Member: NRA GOA

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Est sularas oth mithas

"either way, you were guilty by association, so you were smited...." JD

dog2000tj is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Traded the Kimber CA357 General Handgun Discussion 27 04-19-2011 02:57 AM
Just traded Thelt General Shotgun Discussion 2 12-27-2010 08:05 PM
Traded for another Savage today Txhillbilly General Rifle Discussion 13 09-30-2010 04:03 AM
I Traded Guns ninjatoth General Handgun Discussion 12 12-14-2009 11:36 AM
Just traded up :) kodiak1973 XD Forum 10 06-28-2009 04:51 AM