Still confused - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Still confused

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2011, 11:59 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 984 Times on 649 Posts
Likes Given: 632

Quentin - I know YOU didn't say paint it. Didn't mean to imply that. To the guys that DID say paint it - You go paint yours, that's fine for you, I'll color match mine, that's fine for me. I might not be into mine for much more, or any more $, and it'll look better. Who says that something that might save your life has to look crappy? (MY opinion.)

Old 03-25-2011, 12:08 AM   #12

A lot of quality manufacturers' finishes match pretty closely to one another. I have a Bushmaster Upper on an RRA lower. When I first got the upper it seemed MUCH darker than the lower receiver. I put a couple coats of oil (let it soak in, and oiled again) on the lower, and it became obvious that the upper had been oiled before shipping, while the lower receiver was pretty much bone dry. Now they match almost perfectly. YMMV.

"In Vermont authenticity is all, they do not try to keep it real, they are real."- NY Times.

Old 03-25-2011, 02:48 AM   #13

Liked 8 Times on 5 Posts

To the OP:

Focus on function first. It doesn't matter what your rfile looks like if you can't get it out to play.

Get something that fits what you want to do with the gun and go for it.

Fit and Color should match with in makers, but I also have several receivers from different manufacturers that match perfectly as well. The last thing you need to be worrying about on your first AR is a freaking paint job.

Old 03-25-2011, 05:26 AM   #14