Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   Rock River low, low prices (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/rock-river-low-low-prices-28936/)

lonyaeger 07-02-2010 07:33 PM

Rock River low, low prices

At this price for an RRA AR15, you couldn't hardly BUILD one for less! You can get a great rifle for about $1,000.

Rock River Arms: SUPER SALE! RRA LAR-15 Operator2 Series

Bucktweet 07-02-2010 08:30 PM

I've been looking at this all day and I'm seriously thinking about buying one when I get back from vacation on Tues.

What's the difference between the mid-length and CAR length? is one better than the other?

I'm a newbie to the AR's

Quentin 07-02-2010 11:51 PM

Quote:

...What's the difference between the mid-length and CAR length? is one better than the other?...
They're both good and there is debate which is better. I went with a middy for my build last year and am happy with it. Since the gas tube is two inches longer they tend to have softer recoil and are easier on the bolt carrier group. This extra length also gives you a longer sight radius if you're using iron sights and the longer hand guards can be an advantage. I like the look of a midlength too.

Many prefer the carbine length gas system and it works very well. Also you get the M4 style barrel with the M203 cutout. Look at both designs and choose the one you prefer.

RRA makes good ARs but widen your search and look at Spikes and BCM too. I would choose one of those instead. The Spikes middy and M4gery are real bargains right now, probably cheaper than RRA and certainly better.

dog2000tj 07-02-2010 11:57 PM

Got the email on the phone this morning. Too damn bad I don't "need" nothing. :rolleyes: I've got stuff from them before and have been very happy. As for a $1k build - don't forget about STAG arms, very nice and just about the same or less than RRA. :)