Riddle me this.....
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Riddle me this.....

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2012, 10:24 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AgentTikki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: City of Lost Angels, Kommifornia
Posts: 3,444
Liked 335 Times on 264 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default Riddle me this.....

Ok well not really a riddle. A buddy or mine are arguing over whether or not an ar15 will cycle firing blanks. I'm arguing that since there is no bullet in the bore, the gas will just go straight out the bore bypassing the gas port and no cycling the gun at all. He thinks that the gas will pass into the port as it expands out to the crown.

Soimeone settle this for us.....anyone firing blanks?

__________________
Assumption is the mother of all ****ups.
Know what you know, Know what you don't know. -Paul Pedzolt
"Jack of all trades, master of none, though oftentimes better than master of one" -Mynshul
AgentTikki is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 05-14-2012, 10:28 PM   #2
10-32
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mountainman13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 11,525
Liked 2917 Times on 1718 Posts

Default

You need a blank adapter.
Or it won't cycle.
http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/ARR223-7.html

__________________

I don't need No stinking signature.

mountainman13 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 10:28 PM   #3
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jjfuller1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: a place between here and there.
Posts: 4,440
Liked 1142 Times on 744 Posts
Likes Given: 677

Default

yes, lots of them. and yes the bolt does cycle as long as you have a BFA. if it didnt it wouldnt be very life like practice would it?.. played with them several times in the military.. note however, more jamms happenend from blanks than any other ammo.

__________________
I have been a silent witness
to all of America's finest hours.
But my finest hour comes
when I am torn into strips and used as bandages
for my wounded comrades on the battlefield,
When I fly at half-mast to honor my soldiers,
Or when I lie in the trembling arms
of a grieving mother
at the graveside of her fallen son.
jjfuller1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:10 PM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
sputnik1988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Bluegrass state
Posts: 2,870
Liked 708 Times on 461 Posts
Likes Given: 1945

Default

I've shot USMC issue blanks out of an AR, no, they won't cycle without a BFA, neither will any other firearm that I know of.

__________________
sputnik1988 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:11 PM   #5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Rick1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Clifton,Colorado
Posts: 4,156
Liked 1834 Times on 1023 Posts
Likes Given: 1211

Default

When I was in the army it would not work without a blank adapter on the end of the barrel.

__________________

Romans 1:16 I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile.

Rick1967 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:17 PM   #6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AgentTikki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: City of Lost Angels, Kommifornia
Posts: 3,444
Liked 335 Times on 264 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default

Ya, I've heard that they are dirty, and like to gumm up your reciever. I guess the BFA would create a some backpressure to cycle the bolt. Thx for the info.


I win......or does he? damn, mebbe a draw..... who is more right? You can shoot blanks but you need an adaptor.......


meh I'm glad I didn't bet anything. I mean I knew that during training leo use blanks, but didn't know about the adapter....so I wasn't sure how they did it. I'm just glad we didn't bet anything....

thx guys!

__________________
Assumption is the mother of all ****ups.
Know what you know, Know what you don't know. -Paul Pedzolt
"Jack of all trades, master of none, though oftentimes better than master of one" -Mynshul
AgentTikki is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:19 PM   #7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West, by God, Funroe,Louisiana
Posts: 18,707
Liked 9203 Times on 5058 Posts
Likes Given: 74

Default

Yep, a BFA is a must or it won't work. The ones they use in the movies have one built into the barrel.

Hint, for any current service members: stick a cigarette butt or old ear plug inside the comp before screwing the BFA down. Makes a better gas seal, and won't jam.

__________________
trip286 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 12:47 AM   #8
Moderator
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester WI,Rochester WI
Posts: 17,563
Liked 5651 Times on 2954 Posts
Likes Given: 372

Default

you lso need a birdcage flashhider or an a2 flash hider for a blankadaptor to work. when you hear of people talking about m16failures to cycle in the military its mainly cuz of blanks. those thing are terrible to run through a gun. they clog gasports gastubes and even cause ak47's to stop in their tracks.

note: putting a bfa on your gun is a horrible thing to do to the crown.

do yourself a favor and stay far far far away from blanks

__________________

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

JonM is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 12:51 AM   #9
10-32
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mountainman13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 11,525
Liked 2917 Times on 1718 Posts

Default

I have 2 30rnd mags full of them. That's where they are staying. Lol

__________________

I don't need No stinking signature.

mountainman13 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 01:01 AM   #10
Moderator
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
c3shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Third bunker on the right,Central Virginia
Posts: 16,675
Liked 8836 Times on 3824 Posts
Likes Given: 1366

Default

As said- since the AR15 and M16 are GAS OPERATED rifles- lacking a bullet, there must be a means of restricting the flow of gas to make the action cycle semi or full auto. Purpose of THESE things-

m16-bfa.jpg

In the movies. the barrel is replaced with one with an internally restricted bore that will not shoot ball ammo.

Without a BFA (Blank firing attachment) you have a manually operated repeater. It also serves to limit the gasses that exit the muzzle for safety. Without a BFA, a blank at zero range can be deadly. There are also BFAs for the M60, M14, M1 Garand, etc.

__________________

What we have here is... failure- to communicate.

c3shooter is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
A riddle for y´all slammer Blackpowder & Musket 14 02-11-2010 02:26 PM