red dot trouble
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > red dot trouble

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2012, 05:59 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: houston,texas
Posts: 33
Default red dot trouble

I bought an AR and it came with a red dot already on it. Its a bushnell and I am ready to get rid of it. I can't figure out what its for. It is just a lense, no cross hair, no referance to where the target is on the range.

There is a red dot in it when I sit under a lamp, but at an outdoor gunrange I get nothing, is there something wrong?

__________________
clax is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 01-12-2012, 06:20 AM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West, by God, Funroe,Louisiana
Posts: 18,707
Liked 9205 Times on 5058 Posts
Likes Given: 74

Default

This may sound like a troll post, but I have to ask, are the batteries fresh?

I only ask that because it's amazing how many "broken down" cars I've fixed by adding gas to the tank.

That being said, I haven't heard much about bushnell optics, it could just be crap for all I know.

__________________
trip286 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:36 AM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: fordland,missouri
Posts: 11,099
Liked 862 Times on 648 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

It should be good and the purpose is quick but accurate target aquisition. And id change your batteries and try it outside again. Bushnell is pretty good quality for cheap.

God didnt make all men equal colonel Sam Colt did

__________________
Marlinman is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 08:32 AM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: houston,texas
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trip286 View Post
This may sound like a troll post, but I have to ask, are the batteries fresh?

I only ask that because it's amazing how many "broken down" cars I've fixed by adding gas to the tank.

That being said, I haven't heard much about bushnell optics, it could just be crap for all I know.
not a troll at all, I had no idea it needed batteries
__________________
clax is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 08:34 AM   #5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: fordland,missouri
Posts: 11,099
Liked 862 Times on 648 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clax
not a troll at all, I had no idea it needed batteries
Unscrew the very top of the light control knob w a coin and you will have found the battery compartment

God didnt make all men equal colonel Sam Colt did
__________________
Marlinman is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 12:19 PM   #6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 507
Liked 55 Times on 44 Posts

Default

I have a Different brand sight and it has a brightness knob on it from 1 to 12. I usually have it on 12 to see it well.

__________________
msup752 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:00 PM   #7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,378
Liked 279 Times on 220 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

Unscrew the cap on the rheostate , dial with 1 thru 10 on it and see if there is a plastic tab you can pull out from under the battery. If nothing there at all get the right battery. , Read the info sheet that came with it. I know guys not need directions but sometimes they help. You will find when its bright day light you turn the dial up when over caste or near dark a setting of 1 or 2 is enough.

__________________
hardluk1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 04:47 PM   #8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mjkeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wichita,Kansas
Posts: 4,026
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msup752 View Post
I have a Different brand sight and it has a brightness knob on it from 1 to 12. I usually have it on 12 to see it well.
Your dot must be fuzzy as hell on such a high setting. Even on 100+ degree summer days a setting of 4-6 works great for me. I wonder if there's something wrong w/ your optic.
__________________

“The bitterness of poor quality Lingers long after The sweetness of low price is forgotten.”
-John Ruskin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quentin View Post
"The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together."
mjkeat is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 07:39 PM   #9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 507
Liked 55 Times on 44 Posts

Default

Not fuzzy at all. I really can't even see it until I hit 6 or so. It was $50 so if I have to turn it to 10 or 12, i'm good with that.
I was thinking of putting it on my 12ga and getting a better one but not sure if it will take the punishment.

__________________
msup752 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
XD 45 Serious trouble C-Melancon XD Forum 78 10-24-2010 11:54 PM
H&R 929 trouble AlphaPaintballRef Revolver Handguns 4 10-13-2009 03:35 AM
Gun Trouble DeltaDiminishing General Rifle Discussion 4 08-17-2009 12:58 PM
How much trouble? ultragtanon Concealed Carrying & Personal Protection 10 08-13-2009 03:51 AM
M2 Trouble zapper General Rifle Discussion 4 07-07-2009 02:17 AM