Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Quad rail questions.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2013, 06:50 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default Quad rail questions.

I have a Stag 15 model 1L. I am thinking about upgrading to the Samson quad rail used on the 2t's. I have several rifles but this is my first time with the AR platform. What kind of advice can you lend me? Personal preferences? I am thinking about getting a eotech or something similar. That do you think?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-03-2013, 07:54 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 837 Times on 484 Posts
Likes Given: 338

I've answered this question about as best I can in a posted response to a thread entitled "Quad Poll", but I'll answer it again.

1. If you are not a government user who needs an IR laser, in addition to a white light, with remote switching options then there's not much sense in having a quad rail.

The Troy Alpha rail weighs less than most any aluminum quad rail system and permits you to configure the rail system with lengths of rail where you need them.

As a civilian user, all I need on my AR is a white light. I have a mount that threads through a hole in a standard plastic handguard for that purpose.

2. Optics are best mounted on the receiver rail where they do not negatively impact weight distribution or balance. If the rail is not extremely solid and the same height as the receiver, expect to have problems with fore end rail mounted optics. Extremely solid generally means heavy.