possibly purchasing a Colt AR15 SP1, help please?? - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > possibly purchasing a Colt AR15 SP1, help please??

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2011, 05:12 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

oh, yes the rifle is 100% original

Old 12-09-2011, 05:13 AM   #12
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 6018 Times on 3152 Posts
Likes Given: 431

Ive got a sp1 about 50k higher serial than that one. Ive been shooting mine since 1986 never had a jam or ftf fte. Forward assist is not needed in a working ar15.

If a round doesnt go into battery you need to check the bore. Ive seen ar15s go kaboom cuz the owner just kept jamming the fa witout looking till it went in battery. Then kaboom from bore obstruction.

If you swap the upper out you will need a small to large front pin adaptor they cost like 5$ off midway or brownells.

Just dont swap the colt parts out into a new reciever sp1 in good condition are collector items.

My advice buy it clean it shoot it as is once or twice then buy a different ar15 to beat on. Save it. Sp1 goes for 900-1500 depending on condition

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

Old 12-09-2011, 05:14 AM   #13

Liked 776 Times on 449 Posts
Likes Given: 492

Quote:
Originally Posted by eeklun01 View Post
i am a complete noobie about assault rifles and i need some advice, so my friend is selling me his colt ar15 sp1 for $300 the gun is in full working order and i was wondering if this gun is notorious for any problems and if its even worth my time purchasing?