Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Playing with the idea of building my own rifle

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2010, 09:22 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Playing with the idea of building my own rifle

Howdy folks, new here and looking for some thoughts/advice from those who undoubtedly know more than I on the subject.

Former USMC 0311, 03-07. So I have some knowledge of the system to a point but damned if I know the nuts and bolts. Thats what the boys in the armory were for.

Looking to build a rifle for street to street, house to house and down to door to door type ranges. Id say realistically 300 yds max and inside of 100 yds 60% of the time, though if need be id still like to push back to 500 yds and still drop rounds on target. Pretty much just holding MOA, not looking for a tack driver. Pretty much a M4 knock off I figure.

Im really looking for a basic platform from which I can add to as money allows. This is going to be a fairly long term project as I dont want to dip into my deployment/savings fund. As such ill be picking up the parts as I find good deals and as I have the spare funds.

Back to the platform concept, im looking for fairly bare bones, I dont need an ACOG at this point nor do I need any highspeed crap. Just a solid foundation to build on.

I thrive on lists, so heres mine so far. Feel free to add if ive overlooked something. Like I said before, I know next to nothing about the nuts and bolts and actually building an M16/M4 so my list is just pretty much the parts I do know.

Id like to build it from as scratch as I possibly/cost effectively can.

+Lower Rec
-Lower Rec Parts
-Trigger assembly
-Buffer/Buffer Spring
+Upper Rec
-Bolt Carrier Group
-Charging Handle
-Forward Assist
-Ejection Port Cover
+Stock
+Barrel
+Rails/Handguards
+Sights

Reckon ill pick out the big items first: