Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   newbie buyer (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/newbie-buyer-39817/)

lehill66 03-15-2011 05:52 AM

newbie buyer

Ok, so i'll say up front that I am a newbie when it comes to AR-15's. I was hoping to get some advice on a few different models I am looking into and maybe some other recommendations. I've searched through hundreds of threads about this already, so I've done some homework.

I'm looking to spend right around $1,000 or less on the rifle. Maybe $1,100 max.

I first made the decision of the AR-15 over the AK-47 due to accuracy at long range. But I like the increased power in the 7.62 caliber vs the 5.56 on the AR. What are some thoughts on getting an AR-15 type chambered for 7.62/.308? Is this significantly less accurate than a 5.56? This in particular was the one I was looking at. Any comments on this particular one too would be helpful.

M15 A4 7.62MM X 39 CARBINE, GREEN

Range and accuracy are little more important to me though than power. So I wouldn't want to sacrifice too much of it for more power.

Other ones I'm looking at our the following. And again, comments on these specific ones would be helpful

Stag Arms:
Stag Arms

Rock River Arms: Any thoughts on this vendor. Do they make quality firearms?
Rock River Arms: NEW! RRA LAR-15 Tactical Operator2

Bushmaster
Bushmaster - Hunting Rifles

So yeah, comments/experience with any of these (or particular brands would be great). Also, other reccomendations for a good AR-15 in my budget are appreciated.

Quentin 03-15-2011 01:03 PM