new rifle extraction issue


Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > new rifle extraction issue

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2009, 12:03 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bullhead City, Az
Posts: 12
Likes Given: 1

Default new rifle extraction issue

Hi everyone,

Took my new ar-15 to the range for the first time today. Had an interesting extraction issue that I've not heard about before. Since I was working up loads and breaking in the barrel, I decided to single load the first rounds w/out the magazine being in place. The single rounds would not extract/eject and the extractor tore the rim of the cartridge off on the side where it pulls. These were starting loads on the low side approx 2600fps (chrono) IMR 3031. I decided to shoot the next rounds from a loaded 30 rnd mag and not a single extraction problem in the next 100 rnds.

I'm asking if this is normal? I have done searches and not seen this issue discussed or was aware of this being a known problem. I will leave names out at this point and just say the upper is factory assembled from a well respected supplier.

Thanks you and be safe



__________________
Wyatt Earp is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 11-06-2009, 12:47 AM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gatekeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Uniontown,PA
Posts: 3,710
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Sounds like the extractor did not get a full grip on the rim. Id say load from the mag or single load round in chamber, ease the bolt forward and give the forward assist a tap to make sure bolt is fully seated.---------- .02 Ken



__________________
Gatekeeper is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 12:56 AM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
FCross7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,017
Default

After the 100 magazine fed rounds, did you try single loading anymore?

-Fred

__________________

"Breathe when you can, shoot when you should."
-Rob Leatham

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!

"Qui desiderat pacem, bellum praeparat; nemo provocare ne offendere audet quem intelliget superiorem esse pugnaturem"

FCross7 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:54 PM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bullhead City, Az
Posts: 12
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FCross7 View Post
After the 100 magazine fed rounds, did you try single loading anymore?

-Fred
No, I didn't try single loading again. That is a good suggestion and will do that at my next range session. But at this moment I'm thinking it was an issue of a brand new rifle coupled with low pressure rnds.

Thanks for the responses.
__________________
Wyatt Earp is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 06:48 AM   #5
ARP
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: pueblo west,Colorado
Posts: 11
Default

a couple of things come to mind, it could be overgassed so the carrier travels too fast. It could be a rough chamber with the case sticking.
M193 loads are hot, overpressure in some chambers and they have been known to do the same thing often.
2600fps with 3031 doesn't sound hot unless it was a 16" barrel.
A little Iosso paste on a large 410 caliber or larger bore mop could clean the chamber, just be careful to stay clear of the throat.
A carbine gas system should have a .0625-.070 port anything larger could overgas the system.

__________________
ARP is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 11:27 PM   #6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
hillbilly68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,000
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

You seated the round in the chamber manually and then let the bolt go home on the seated round?

__________________

________________________________________
"I'm your brother, just make it count."

hillbilly68 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 02:20 AM   #7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mrm14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 2,382
Liked 311 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 27

Default

Dont know about the AR's but on a Springfield M-14/M1A if you dont let the bolt snap/slam shut when loading single round it sometimes wont eject either.

__________________
mrm14 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 02:35 AM   #8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Dzscubie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: El Paso,Texas
Posts: 2,521
Liked 39 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyatt Earp View Post
No, I didn't try single loading again. That is a good suggestion and will do that at my next range session. But at this moment I'm thinking it was an issue of a brand new rifle coupled with low pressure rnds.

Thanks for the responses.
Wyatt,

I had a similar type of incident this weekend with the AR I just finished building. I inserted a full magazine and let the bold go forward, after the first round fired I had a class III malfunction where the round fired did not extract and the next round tried to feed through it. I cleared the round out of the chamber with cleaning rod (came out really easy) and found the extractor had taken off the side of the case head. I used a chamber brush and cleaned the chamber really good and tried again. I fired the next 100 rounds without a problem and no repeat of this failure to extract. I think it was just a new weapon firing for the first time.
__________________
Dzscubie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 07:52 PM   #9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bullhead City, Az
Posts: 12
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks for the responses. From all I can find out it is not uncommon with the ar-15 platform to have ejection/extraction issues with a new rifle, due to several reasons that work themselves out with use or cleaning. I still have not been back to the range but I believe my issues are in the past.
Yes Hillbilly, with the rounds that would not extract I inserted the round in the chamber and then dropped the bolt home. Could this be a problem? If so I would like an explanation. Later everyone and be safe.

__________________
Wyatt Earp is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 08:35 PM   #10
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Dzscubie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: El Paso,Texas
Posts: 2,521
Liked 39 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Wyatt,

From my experience and training when you insert a round in the chamber like the AR15 and let the bolt go forward you run the chance (small but still there) of breaking or chipping the extractor. As the bolt goes forward into battery the extractor rides over the case head and snaps into place. It is possible that a weakened extractor "might" break or chip off and you would have a failure to extract, however, this would probably not create the tearing off of the case rim. Then again, with anything mechanical nothing is guaranteed. Remember Murphy's Law.
Let us know if it happens again.



__________________
Dzscubie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Rem 870 Sticky Extraction BILLYBOB44 General Shotgun Discussion 6 02-24-2009 02:35 PM
Stag 2TL extraction issue vegasjeepguy AR-15 Discussion 4 10-18-2008 11:14 PM
Extraction from the Patriot Post Kelly J Politics, Religion and Controversy 0 10-06-2008 06:06 PM
Your take on an old issue matt g The Club House 14 01-09-2008 03:07 PM