New ar owner ?'s
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > New ar owner ?'s

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2011, 03:49 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default New ar owner ?'s

I know theres alot of ar threads already but im new to owing one and had some questions.

First off its a Dpms carbine model a15 ar its chambered for .223 and/or 5.56, basic model with the detachable handle on the rail, shorty barrel. I think thats all lol

Now im new to this style rifle, I own shotguns and rifles of all sorts but never one of these bad boys. what troubles may I run into with it?

I dont want to "trick it out" I just maybe want a few parts like fwd grip, possible scope/red dot, where should I look for a good deal(price and quality wise), and what to get? Shooting possibly up to 250yds ish, and the accasional hunting trip.

Whats the best ammo to shoot out of it? I heard 55gr .223 would be good but just wandering ehat yall shoot

And finally, whats the darn difference between .223 and 5.56?? Lol. Sorry for the abundance of questions, any suggestions/help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance yall

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-07-2011, 01:32 PM   #2

Sorry about the double post I bumped the send button as I was typing

Old 09-07-2011, 01:51 PM   #3

Liked 20 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 1

If you can, avoid the Tula .223 that you find at WalMart.

It works, but is VERY dirty. I mean, "beat a charcoal briquet into your chamber and BCG" style of dirty.