Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > need input for handguard

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2012, 01:22 PM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jjfuller1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: a place between here and there.
Posts: 4,417
Liked 1126 Times on 734 Posts
Likes Given: 648

Default need input for handguard

so i have this AR, stag carbine upper with plus package. it has this diamondback picatinny rail handgaurd. its nice looking and all but i cant hit crap with the MBUS because the handguard moves. unfortunaly i didnt realize that untill after a couple boxes of ammo and several sight adjustments. id get a group. make an adjustment. and then have no impact, no idea shots. it really boggled me till i saw what was happening. so any thoughts on how to remedy this or should i get a different handguard? i'll try to get better pics later

1.jpg  
__________________
I have been a silent witness
to all of America's finest hours.
But my finest hour comes
when I am torn into strips and used as bandages
for my wounded comrades on the battlefield,
When I fly at half-mast to honor my soldiers,
Or when I lie in the trembling arms
of a grieving mother
at the graveside of her fallen son.
jjfuller1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 09-27-2012, 01:31 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,087
Liked 757 Times on 449 Posts
Likes Given: 477

Default

Wow! Definitely a change is in order. Let us know the outcome of your decision. Interested.

__________________
PanBaccha is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 03:08 PM   #3
Moderator
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester WI,Rochester WI
Posts: 17,368
Liked 5464 Times on 2854 Posts
Likes Given: 354

Default

Ive had good luck with midwest industries ff tubes. The one on my wife's bcm is solid like a rock. Ive got a rra advanced operator type ff tube for my 458 socom upper and it too is solid as hell but its heavy. Both are used with buis

When it comes to railed ff tubes be prepared to pay for quality. The elcheapo ones are exactly that, cheap. Its little better than using a wet noodle.

Im putting a jp ff tube on my precision rifle build its nice but i dont know how it is for keeping zero. It wont be used for buis setup.

__________________

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

JonM is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 03:15 PM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
tacticalfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,224
Liked 480 Times on 329 Posts

Default

I say get a.....

forumrunner_20120927_111335.jpg



forumrunner_20120927_111430.jpg

__________________
tacticalfun is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 04:02 PM   #5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
SSGN_Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,222
Liked 2075 Times on 1222 Posts
Likes Given: 445

Default

Another option is to get a iron sight that is the right height to fit on your gas block rail.

__________________
SSGN_Doc is offline  
purehavoc Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 04:10 PM   #6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
purehavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Not where I wanna be
Posts: 4,737
Liked 1126 Times on 731 Posts
Likes Given: 2014

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SSGN_Doc View Post
Another option is to get a iron sight that is the right height to fit on your gas block rail.
This ^^^^^^^^ . If you like your current handguard and are happy with it just get a sight steel or alum front sight that will attach to your gas block . Do not try to put a magpul or other plastic on it you will have major melt down
There are lots of great handguards out there that will do what you want them to do but they arent free either . I have bought over $600 worth of handguards this summer but I have finally found my favorite . Now Im not going to rush to change them all to that same one , the others I have are roughly the same size and they work great .
__________________
purehavoc is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 05:18 PM   #7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LongBaller71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: MO
Posts: 845
Liked 761 Times on 342 Posts
Likes Given: 274

Default

I'll second the MI ff. Not experienced on how they'll hold up, but sure look and feel pretty awesome.

http://www.midwestindustriesinc.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=category.display&category_id= 450

__________________
Dave
_________
Ammo is expensive. Do NOT expect a warning shot!


dhcustomwork.com
/ dhcustomwork@gmail.com
LongBaller71 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 08:18 PM   #8
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jjfuller1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: a place between here and there.
Posts: 4,417
Liked 1126 Times on 734 Posts
Likes Given: 648

Default

hmmm i may be trying that.. now to save some cash

__________________
I have been a silent witness
to all of America's finest hours.
But my finest hour comes
when I am torn into strips and used as bandages
for my wounded comrades on the battlefield,
When I fly at half-mast to honor my soldiers,
Or when I lie in the trembling arms
of a grieving mother
at the graveside of her fallen son.
jjfuller1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 08:24 PM   #9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: I see you, and you will not know when I will strike
Posts: 24,301
Liked 3478 Times on 1609 Posts
Likes Given: 3590

Default

If you are looking for a new foreend, Yankee Hill Machine makes some great ones and they have been in business a LONG time doing it, so no worries about quality or customer service.

http://yhm.net/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=4&zenid=1bc9ecd3f4 77b13ec88a31f32a64db33

__________________
Dillinger is offline  
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 08:29 PM   #10
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
purehavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Not where I wanna be
Posts: 4,737
Liked 1126 Times on 731 Posts
Likes Given: 2014

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjfuller1 View Post
hmmm i may be trying that.. now to save some cash
I dont think your gas block will fit under that rail if you intend on going longer . same length shouldnt be a problem though .
Of all the alum handguards I have this one is my favorite, helps keep the barrel cooler than my Troys and feels great in my hand and it will fit the factory barrel nut you will just have to take off or cut off the ring also comes with 3 rails and a quick release that bolts on

http://www.rainierarms.com/?page=shop/detail&product_id=2926

rainier-forearm.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by purehavoc; 09-27-2012 at 08:35 PM.
purehavoc is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Handguard end cap Brenton92 AR-15 Discussion 1 04-18-2012 05:31 PM
M4 handguard GlockGuy66 AR-15 Discussion 0 02-13-2012 07:10 PM
Vietnam handguard 00possum AR-15 Discussion 13 08-10-2011 01:51 PM
handguard cap JonM AR-15 Discussion 5 01-13-2011 05:03 PM
Mp5 HK 94 Handguard on AK ARnoob AK & SKS Discussion 4 07-27-2010 02:01 PM