My new DMR rig
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > My new DMR rig

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2014, 12:53 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,250
Liked 390 Times on 253 Posts
Likes Given: 1400

Default My new DMR rig

Been selling a couple of my other ARs to afford this one.
I didnt want to post it until it was complete (took a couple of months).

Every single part on this gun is high-end except the angled sights and the Bipod (UTG).
Most of this I bought as a package unfired used.

- Seekings Precsion Billet Lower
- Vltor Mur 1D Upper
- Geissele Rail
- Noveske barrel (Ceracoted)
- There is an upgraded trigger group that "holds" a set , but I am not sure what brand it was.
- hardchromed BCG/bolt
- The Scope I got is Nikon 3-9x40 Prostaff in Real Tree Camo (Since the gun came hydrodipped camo'ed I made sure the scope was too)
Zeroed it yesterday but my scope mount screws came loose from it so I need to rezero (are we supposed to use locktite on those?) I screwed 'em down hard now.

100_0626.jpg   100_0627.jpg   100_0628.jpg  
__________________
https://www.numbersusa.com/content/

Primary Rifle:
LWRC M6A2 w/ Eotech512

Primary Handgun:
Ruger GP100 Royal Phoenix
bluez is offline  
FullautoUSA Likes This 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 03-08-2014, 01:01 PM   #2
Moderator
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester WI,Rochester WI
Posts: 17,565
Liked 5654 Times on 2954 Posts
Likes Given: 374

Default

Base screws that hold the base to the rail are 60inch pounds on a quality rail with quality screws a lot of cheap bases can't handle that. The base needs to be pushed forward towards the muzzle then locked down. Ring screws are 20-25 inch pounds and blue loctite any more and you can start crushing the scope body or strip the screw heads or snap them off when you undo them. Larue mounts have this issue even with the correct torque as they use elcheapo non heat treated screws

Looks like you have a thumb screw for the base. Not a fan of those as they tend to shoot loose and there is no way to tell how tight you got em. They also don't really distribute clamping pressure well.

Wheeler makes a inch pound torque wrech that's perfect for gun work.

__________________

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...


Last edited by JonM; 03-08-2014 at 01:06 PM.
JonM is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 01:05 PM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,250
Liked 390 Times on 253 Posts
Likes Given: 1400

Default

The mount is not an expensive one. I was running out of money near the end of the project.
it was on sale 30 bucks for a 95 USD base...

Why do you say it needs to move forward?
BDC is 3.6 inch and my eye is about 3.6 inch back from it.

Do you suggest I move it forward and then move my eye forward?

I dont really have any experience with scopes at all...

__________________
https://www.numbersusa.com/content/

Primary Rifle:
LWRC M6A2 w/ Eotech512

Primary Handgun:
Ruger GP100 Royal Phoenix
bluez is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 02:02 PM   #4
Moderator
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester WI,Rochester WI
Posts: 17,565
Liked 5654 Times on 2954 Posts
Likes Given: 374

Default

no. the base when you put it in the slots on the rail it has a bit of wiggle room before you tighten it. take up that bit of slack by pushing forward. if you take the slack up by pulling rearward or leave it in the middle the mount will shoot loose. recoil pushes back so if you tighten it with the slack taken up rearward it shoots loose over time.

__________________

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

JonM is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 03:41 PM   #5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,250
Liked 390 Times on 253 Posts
Likes Given: 1400

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonM View Post
no. the base when you put it in the slots on the rail it has a bit of wiggle room before you tighten it. take up that bit of slack by pushing forward. if you take the slack up by pulling rearward or leave it in the middle the mount will shoot loose. recoil pushes back so if you tighten it with the slack taken up rearward it shoots loose over time.
Oh thanks!!
__________________
https://www.numbersusa.com/content/

Primary Rifle:
LWRC M6A2 w/ Eotech512

Primary Handgun:
Ruger GP100 Royal Phoenix
bluez is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 06:29 PM   #6
Moderator
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester WI,Rochester WI
Posts: 17,565
Liked 5654 Times on 2954 Posts
Likes Given: 374

Default

its an aggravating mistake that leads lots of folks to think their optics are broken.

the thumb screws just crank em as tight as you can go might even put a bit of blue locktite on the threads let it dry completely before screwing them back in. that will help with loosening from lack of proper torque. just a teensy tiny drop is all you need

__________________

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

JonM is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 12:39 AM   #7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Molon Labe,Missouri
Posts: 507
Liked 74 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default

Damn nice setup. Might want to watch that Fella in the background though. He looks a little shifty to me. LOL

__________________
Triumphman is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 05:06 PM   #8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,250
Liked 390 Times on 253 Posts
Likes Given: 1400

Default

So do you guys think that after I retighted the screws that came loose I might as well unscrew of mount screws only to redo them with locktite?

__________________
https://www.numbersusa.com/content/

Primary Rifle:
LWRC M6A2 w/ Eotech512

Primary Handgun:
Ruger GP100 Royal Phoenix
bluez is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 11:50 PM   #9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 563
Liked 72 Times on 46 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluez View Post
Been selling a couple of my other ARs to afford this one.
I didnt want to post it until it was complete (took a couple of months).

Every single part on this gun is high-end except the angled sights and the Bipod (UTG).
Most of this I bought as a package unfired used.

- Seekings Precsion Billet Lower
- Vltor Mur 1D Upper
- Geissele Rail
- Noveske barrel (Ceracoted)
- There is an upgraded trigger group that "holds" a set , but I am not sure what brand it was.
- hardchromed BCG/bolt
- The Scope I got is Nikon 3-9x40 Prostaff in Real Tree Camo (Since the gun came hydrodipped camo'ed I made sure the scope was too)
Zeroed it yesterday but my scope mount screws came loose from it so I need to rezero (are we supposed to use locktite on those?) I screwed 'em down hard now.
What caliber is your rifle? What is your intended use?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Firearms Talk mobile app
__________________
Alpha1Victor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 01:26 AM   #10
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,250
Liked 390 Times on 253 Posts
Likes Given: 1400

Default

It is 5.56mm
Looking to feed it mostly on heavier grain match ammo.
Its intended application is as a DMR .. So not quite a Sniper Setup but a rifle capable of reaching out further than the normal riflemans rifle while capable of shooting the same ammo out of the same mags as a standard AR15.

Might a AR10 have been a better choice?
Not sure.. I like the lighter rifle/ammo package of the 5.56mm and I dont expect 1000 yard reach but I do want better reach than my Aimpoint PRO equipped CQB rifles.

__________________
https://www.numbersusa.com/content/

Primary Rifle:
LWRC M6A2 w/ Eotech512

Primary Handgun:
Ruger GP100 Royal Phoenix
bluez is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes