Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   My 1st build finished lower (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/my-1st-build-finished-lower-102693/)

capnklump 01-13-2014 01:28 AM

My 1st build finished lower

2 Attachment(s)
Well I finished my Spikes Tactical lower. It is CLEARLY evident that I am a novice because I marred the hell out of my lower. I'm gonna have to get a touch up marker. I'll tell you if your not experienced in working with all those tiny detents, springs, & roll pins, its quite a learning curve. A few times I had very small springs flying halfway across the room lol... Its a miracle I did not lose anything. But even with all the headache this first build gave me, I tested all the functions (trigger, hammer, safety, etc.) & everything works as its supposed to. I'm thinking about some upgrades for it later like some anti-roll trigger & hammer pins.Building an AR is one of the things that you just get better at the more you do it. I'm doing the upper tomorrow, & with any luck I'll bring it to the range later in the week.Attachment 132928Attachment 132929

sputnik1988 01-13-2014 01:46 AM

Painters tape can save a lot of heartache, I always use it on builds.

Looks like a good candidate for a duracoat/ceracoat job. Nice choice on parts.

capnklump 01-13-2014 01:51 AM

Thanks. I used a CMMG LPK. Magpul pistol grip & STR stock. Is the cerakote something you can do yourself or you gotta bring it somewhere??

sputnik1988 01-13-2014 02:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by capnklump (Post 1481279)
Thanks. I used a CMMG LPK. Magpul pistol grip & STR stock. Is the cerakote something you can do yourself or you gotta bring it somewhere??

It can be done but I never have. Another member, TexasGunner just did his AR awhile back, turned out great.

TexasGunner 01-13-2014 03:22 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote: