Muzzle Brake Alignment - Page 3

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Muzzle Brake Alignment

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2013, 01:46 PM   #21
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 6031 Times on 3161 Posts
Likes Given: 432

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squawk View Post
I can't get it off. No I am not in a ban state. I'll just have the armorer fix it. This is my first build. I don't wanna break anything.
You would need a barrel block and a vice to do that. More bubbasmiths that work at gunstores ruin good ar15 using just an action block for putting on muzzle devices than anything. Its a common mistake.

Im sure you have heard folks complain about it too. "Took my ar in to get a muzzle device installed, now it the sights dont line up." That happens when excessive torque is applied using an action block and the barrel index pin cams against the reciever index notch.

To any work on the muzzle device the gas system has to be removed and the barrel clamped securely in a vice. I use a block of hardwood drilled out to 5/8 the diameter of the barrel the cut the block in half clean the barrel in the clamping location close to the muzzle as is practical. Put some rosin on the blocks clamp everything in the vice tight so it can be worked on without damaging the gas system or reciever.

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

Old 02-19-2013, 07:24 PM   #22
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 191 Times on 128 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonM