Mobil 1 as gun oil - Page 2
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion >

Mobil 1 as gun oil

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2010, 12:22 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

I'm not a gun expert but I know general machines, maching centers and cars very well. Manufacturing Engineer by trade.

A low viscosity, high temp Molly grease is really meant for areas that need a cushion of lube b/c the tollerance b/t the two parts is not real tight. Also meant for areas that are not getting a replenished supply of fresh oil. Good molly grease is really sticky and tacky for this reason. It also applys a lower viscosity film on the surface as well for slippy thin coverage.

A high viscosity motor oil if you will is meant for tighter tollerances and in a design where the oil is constantly being replenished or forced through an area. Some motors are built with loose tollerances and spec out a heavier weight oil b/c that particular oil will provide more cushion if you will at their specified running temperature.

I would assume that even a 15W-50 would work for most any gun parts. Mobile one has one of the best 15W-50s you can buy with a typical synthetic oil label.

Old 07-16-2010, 01:50 AM   #12

Liked 17 Times on 9 Posts

My boss, the gunsmith that owns the store I work in uses a mixture of WD-40, Marvel mystery oil, and transmission fluid. Seems to work pretty good.

Old 07-16-2010, 10:27 AM   #13
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 85 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by General_lee View Post
My boss, the gunsmith that owns the store I work in uses a mixture of WD-40, Marvel mystery oil, and transmission fluid. Seems to work pretty good.
That would make me nervous as none of those is intended to be a lubricant.

"the only 911 call I need is chambering a round" - Mr. Muller, MO car dealer