Mid length hand guards
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Mid length hand guards

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2012, 11:39 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
heartlessmcfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 50
Default Mid length hand guards

I have a carbine Stag 5 h upper with the standard hand guards with a gas block (factory, no idea on brand). Can I use magpul moe mid length hand guards on her? If yes, how does the front of the hand guards attach? I know the rear locks into the Delta ring but how about the front?

Sent from my DROID RAZR using FirearmsTalk

__________________
heartlessmcfly is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 04-02-2012, 11:48 PM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Quentin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,548
Liked 1004 Times on 705 Posts
Likes Given: 1004

Default

You have carbine length gas (7") and want to put on 9" handguards? No not without a lot of hacksawing and hammering!

You can shave down the FSB and install FF rails though.

__________________

______
The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together. You'll remember the quality of a gun long after you forget how much you paid for it.
________________________________________
US Army 1966-69, VFW Life Member, Retired Geek

Quentin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:51 PM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
heartlessmcfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 50
Default

So on my setup, no bueno?

forumrunner_20120402_195129.jpg



forumrunner_20120402_195107.jpg

Sent from my DROID RAZR using FirearmsTalk

__________________
heartlessmcfly is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:53 PM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AgentTikki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: City of Lost Angels, Kommifornia
Posts: 3,444
Liked 335 Times on 264 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default

Long story short, No you need to use the carbine length hand guards.

You can use middys but you will have to replace the front sight base with a low profile gas block and relocate the front sight base, and you may or maynot be able to mount the FSB depending on how the barrel is contoured.

__________________
Assumption is the mother of all ****ups.
Know what you know, Know what you don't know. -Paul Pedzolt
"Jack of all trades, master of none, though oftentimes better than master of one" -Mynshul

Last edited by AgentTikki; 04-02-2012 at 11:55 PM.
AgentTikki is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:55 PM   #5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AgentTikki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: City of Lost Angels, Kommifornia
Posts: 3,444
Liked 335 Times on 264 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default

Id do what Q suggests. Shave that gas block, and float a rail or hand guards over it.

__________________
Assumption is the mother of all ****ups.
Know what you know, Know what you don't know. -Paul Pedzolt
"Jack of all trades, master of none, though oftentimes better than master of one" -Mynshul
AgentTikki is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:56 PM   #6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
heartlessmcfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 50
Default

Oh pooh..... :'( back to the drawing board

Sent from my DROID RAZR using FirearmsTalk

__________________
heartlessmcfly is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:57 PM   #7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
heartlessmcfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 50
Default

Dont feel like doing a hack job nor spending more on my setup. Already in for $1,100 on this build

Sent from my DROID RAZR using FirearmsTalk

__________________
heartlessmcfly is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 12:10 AM   #8
Supporting Member
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Sniper03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 5,220
Liked 2563 Times on 1251 Posts
Likes Given: 1287

Default

Fly,

You could go with a low profile gas block as the guys have mentioned if you went to a mid-length Free Float Quad Rail system. The Gas Block would be located underneath the Quad Rail. But you will need someone to remove the barrel, barrel nut, Delta Ring, Weld Spring and Snap Ring since the free float quad rail does not use any of those items and install the Quad Rail System. They need tools and the proper torque to perform this task so they would need to do this for you. Since your rifle is scoped you have no concern at this point for iron sights. But could be applied to the system should you ever want to remove the scope and apply iron sights. The Mid-length Free Float Quad Rail would be a nice application for you if you want a mid-length. You could also attach lights, vertical grips and other accessories to the Quad Rail! Just a thought!

__________________

The Constitution is not an instrument for the Government to restrain the people. It is an instrument for the people to restrain the Government!
*Patrick Henry

Today, we need a nation of Minutemen, citizens who are not only prepared to take arms, but citizens who regard the preservation of freedom as the basic purpose of their daily life and who are willing to consciously work and sacrifice for that freedom."

-- John F. Kennedy

Sniper03 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 12:17 AM   #9
Moderator
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester WI,Rochester WI
Posts: 17,594
Liked 5683 Times on 2970 Posts
Likes Given: 377

Default

im not sure there is enough room under those handguards for a gas block.

__________________

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

JonM is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 12:28 AM   #10
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Quentin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,548
Liked 1004 Times on 705 Posts
Likes Given: 1004

Default

The other option would be to sell your existing upper and go buy a midlength upper with the handguards or rails you really want.

In the long run this would be the cheapest way to go, no doubt about it. Unless you can live with what you have.

__________________

______
The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together. You'll remember the quality of a gun long after you forget how much you paid for it.
________________________________________
US Army 1966-69, VFW Life Member, Retired Geek

Quentin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Mid length gas system vs. carbine length sparky17 AR-15 Discussion 8 02-22-2012 01:36 AM
Arsenal SLR 106FR AK with Russian Laminate Hand Guards ARnoob AK & SKS Discussion 3 05-19-2011 12:49 AM
Mid length hand guards on a carbine ar15?????? HighPlainsDrifter Firearm Accessories & Gear 1 11-11-2010 03:07 AM
AR-15 Carbine Length Handguard on Full Length Barrel hopps402 Gunsmithing Forum 9 03-03-2010 03:54 PM
Mid-length/carbine length conversion AKCoastie89 AR-15 Discussion 2 11-08-2009 11:31 PM