Maybe someone can share their knowledge with a new guy?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Maybe someone can share their knowledge with a new guy?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2009, 09:07 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Maybe someone can share their knowledge with a new guy?

Well id like to say im new to this site. I graduated college got a job and the first thing i bought was nib R.R.A. m4 which was immediately topped with an eotech and a Yankee hill machine quad rail among other minor goodies. I absolutely love it, and it is a great weapon. Im just not absolutely thrilled about targets that are covered by the red dot past 75 yards. Im beginning to think i "need" a new black rifle to serve my long range purposes. Ive done a bit of reading and looked at all the big names (and some smaller ones) web pages and I think i would like to have a RRA varmint a4 24' barrel, or something very similar. I just wish RRA made that model in some different calibers. Im wondering if anybody has any suggestions based on their long range ar's. Much appreciated:

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-24-2009, 09:28 PM   #2

What sort of distances are you trying to achieve. The AR can reach out to 400-500 meters and still be effective, provided you are shooting the right loads and have a decent optic.