Magpul CTR stock stuck on buffer tube....Need to Remove.
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Magpul CTR stock stuck on buffer tube....Need to Remove.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2011, 02:24 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ARnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 443
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default Magpul CTR stock stuck on buffer tube....Need to Remove.

Last night I attempted to install my new CTR stock on my Stag lower. I checked to make sure (website and measuring) that I order the correct milspec CTR stock for my Stag milspec buffer tube. Well, I was so excited to install the CTR stock that I did not read the instructions about pulling down the metal posts on each side of the locking pin in order to install the CTR stock.

I got the stock about 1/4 of the way on the buffer tube and now it's stuck.



I have since tried to pull down themetal posts on each side of the locking pin, and I'm able to do so, but the stock is not budging.

Could you guys provide me with some assistance?



Thanks.

__________________
ARnoob is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 04-14-2011, 02:43 PM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
WoodysKJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Louisville,Kentucky
Posts: 250
Default

Unfortunately I would suggest: 1.877.4MAGPUL

Trying anything else MIGHT void any warranty you still have.

__________________
WoodysKJ is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 02:54 PM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ARnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 443
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodysKJ View Post
Unfortunately I would suggest: 1.877.4MAGPUL

Trying anything else MIGHT void any warranty you still have.
Thanks. I'll give them a call.
__________________
ARnoob is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 03:17 PM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mjkeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wichita,Kansas
Posts: 4,026
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

Default

I usually use a screw driver to depress one side of the metal stud. Make sure the locking mech. isnt engaged then give the stud a nice little pry.

__________________
mjkeat is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 05:47 PM   #5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Quentin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,657
Liked 1069 Times on 752 Posts
Likes Given: 1073

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjkeat View Post
I usually use a screw driver to depress one side of the metal stud. Make sure the locking mech. isnt engaged then give the stud a nice little pry.
I'd think that would work. I was surprised how hard it was to put the CTR on the first time. It was pretty snug even before the friction lever was closed, and those mounting studs are hard to work by hand.

You're 100% sure the tube is milspec?
__________________

______
The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together. You'll remember the quality of a gun long after you forget how much you paid for it.
________________________________________
US Army 1966-69, VFW Life Member, Retired Geek

Quentin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 06:51 PM   #6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mjkeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wichita,Kansas
Posts: 4,026
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

Default

Ive never had a problem w/ a CTR or ACS, which have the same set-up, using a screw driver to assist coaxing the studs into compliance.

I too am wondering if the extension is the correct diam. I wonder if its not the locking mech. but its the stock jammed up on the extension. I dont know how tight it would get but it possibly could be tight enough you'll need to put it in a vise.

__________________
mjkeat is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 07:12 PM   #7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ARnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 443
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quentin View Post
I'd think that would work. I was surprised how hard it was to put the CTR on the first time. It was pretty snug even before the friction lever was closed, and those mounting studs are hard to work by hand.

You're 100% sure the tube is milspec?
I thought that it was, but I'm going to double check for sure.
__________________
ARnoob is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 04:27 AM   #8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ARnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 443
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quentin View Post
I'd think that would work. I was surprised how hard it was to put the CTR on the first time. It was pretty snug even before the friction lever was closed, and those mounting studs are hard to work by hand.

You're 100% sure the tube is milspec?
Inspection FAIL on my part. Sure enough, I have a commercial tube. So, on that note.....would anyone like to purchase a fully functional CTR milspec stock?
__________________
ARnoob is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 05:28 AM   #9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Quentin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,657
Liked 1069 Times on 752 Posts
Likes Given: 1073

Default

I believe Magpul will swap it out for a commercial size if you contact CS. Maybe a better move is to get a milspec tube, up to you...


ETA:
I also thought Stag used milspec diameter but guess anything can happen. Might be worth a call to Stag. If they say it's milspec on their site they should make it right.

__________________

______
The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together. You'll remember the quality of a gun long after you forget how much you paid for it.
________________________________________
US Army 1966-69, VFW Life Member, Retired Geek


Last edited by Quentin; 04-15-2011 at 05:31 AM.
Quentin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 06:18 AM   #10
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mjkeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Wichita,Kansas
Posts: 4,026
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

Default

Once again Ill agree w/ Quentin. Id swap out the extension instead of the stock.

__________________
mjkeat is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Stuck choke tube teamramrod General Shotgun Discussion 14 04-22-2011 02:33 AM
a bull barrel kit with magpul grips and magpul stock...is it possible? coyotetracker AR-15 Discussion 0 05-08-2010 05:21 PM
How do I remove a carbine stock? truevil1313 AR-15 Discussion 11 08-20-2009 05:25 PM