Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Looking to buy my first AR-15 - LMT

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2009, 10:52 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Looking to buy my first AR-15 - LMT

I've been researching the AR-15 platform for purchase for a few months now. After extensive searching I think I have decide on a rifle, but I would like to first hear your opinions on it.

The AR I have in my sights is a Lewis Machine &Tool CQB MRP Defender Model Piston 16. I really like the idea of a monolithic rail platform. The piston feature is also a huge selling point for me.

Does anyone have any thoughts, or better yet, hand on experience with LMT?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-24-2009, 01:35 PM   #2

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Welcome to the BRD club. Excellent choice for a first or last AR. I do have a couple LMT's, one with and I am totally sold on, the MRP.

As for the piston, you'll most likely hear yays and nays on that, as you would with most anything you post about on here or any other forum. Some will praise it for cool running, virtually no cleaning, etc, etc, etc. Others will bash it for price, longevity, etc, etc. Take it all with a grain of salt.

LMT products are pretty much rated with the best, top shelf AR's and accessories, on the market today. So rest assured you did not make a bad choice. You will have most likely paid for that, too. But hey...it's YOUR gun, good choice, enjoy it.

Slo

Old 07-24-2009, 04:56 PM   #3

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts