I suck at 200 yards

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > I suck at 200 yards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2010, 07:33 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default I suck at 200 yards

I have a bushmaster predator with a Harris bipod and a Nikon 4.5x14-40.
At 100 yards I can put 10 bullets almost all in the same hole about 1.5" above the bullseye. (I shoot at a paper plate with a set of cross hairs centered on the plate.) At 200 yards I can still hit the plate, but thats about it.The impacts are all over the place. I have noticed that I struggle more to keep my scope centered on the target when shooting at 200. The target is so small that I think maybe I tense up some, and maybe try too hard. Do you think I am trying to be too precise? Should I have a bigger bullseye to shoot at instead of 2 lines drawn by a sharpie? I missed a groundhog yesterday when my six year old daughter was with me and I couldnt think of any way I could blame her for it.
Please give me some of your shooting tips and techniques.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-10-2010, 10:44 AM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 83 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 5

How big is the plate? You've doubled your distance so what your experiencing doesn't surprise me if you dont' have practice shooting at that range. You'll need to concentrate more on your correct point of aim, trigger control and your breathing.
Have you ever been taught to shoot rifles at distance?

If the pain is lacking so is the discipline...