Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   Help a newb with sights (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/help-newb-sights-76195/)

jpowell18 11-12-2012 03:57 AM

Help a newb with sights

Hello everyone,

First post here. I recently bought a Bushmaster carbon 15. Yeah I know plastic gun blah blah blah. I like it and as much as I get to shoot it works fine for me. I'm new to AR's and I'm not sure what sight to get. My only experience is with iron sights on my M1 Garand and Carbine. It came with a cheap Bushnell red dot site but I'm thinking I like a reflex with a 3X magnifier. This gun will mostly be for plinking but every now and then I'll hog hunt with it. Any recommendations? I'm on budget here so I don't need to spend more on the sights than the gun cost. I appreciate the help everyone.

JonM 11-12-2012 04:02 AM

vortex sparc or strikefire are both superb choices. ive got both and have used both on my model70 african express in 458winmag. they hold zero under extreme recoil.

great optics for a low price with a no bs lifetime warranty that follows the optic not the buyer. vortex is a wisconsin optics company. if you cant afford or dont want to pay for a aimpoint the vortex ones are a no brainer

GeneralPatton 11-12-2012 04:31 AM

I had the same issue. I liked the Magpul ones, but I didn't want to put $100 or more into them when I knew i'd add a good optic later, so I just put an inexpensive BSA red dot on mine.

Ultimate_sig 11-12-2012 04:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpowell18
Hello everyone,