Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Help a beginner build his first AR

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2011, 03:33 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Help a beginner build his first AR

So I've been lurking around these forums for a while now, and I've made the decision to start buying up parts as I can and maybe asking for some birthday/christmas gifts lol. I was hoping you folks could give me some pointers/tips and help me develop a cheap parts list.

What I'm looking for right now is just a bare bones platform. No frills or fancy stuff. Just a 5.56 chambered AR15 platform to build on later. But I'm ready to get shooting. I've been reading every chance I get and looking at dozens of websites and even going into gun shops checking out AR stuff. But honestly it is kind of overwhelming. I am completely new to AR's except for what I've learned in the last few months and beside shooting some friends on a half dozen occasions. My experience with them is quite limited.

I'm just looking to do this on a budget and over time so I would like to set up a good list of all the quality parts I NEED to get this rifle shooting. THat way I can just buy one thing at a time over the next few weeks, and know what I have left to get.

Sorry for the long post but I look forward to sharing my experiences on here with all of you great gun enthusiasts.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-07-2011, 04:05 AM   #2

Liked 12 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 4