Hello/Question from a new member
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Hello/Question from a new member

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2013, 01:04 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Hello/Question from a new member

Hi all,
I have been reading posts on this site for about a month and have to say that I am very impressed with the content and knowledge of its members.To that end I was wondering if the community might be able to help with a few questions.
I am new to the AR-15 platform, and have been researching AR's for a little while and like the variability of the platform and an looking to get one. Here in lines my dilemma, I would like one that I can take to range (about twice a month) for plinking out to about 600 yards, I am not that good of a shot now but hope to improve to be able to hit something at 600 yards with practice. However, I unfortunately live near (2-3 miles) a big cat rescue (they currently have over 40 big cats, as in mountain loin or larger, and includes seven 600+ pound tigers) and I recently found out, through a neighbor who is a volunteer fire fighter, that they do not have an evacuation plan for the cats if a natural disaster occurs, ie. fire or hurricane.
So I would like to get something to protect my family from adult tigers and still be able to go the range and practice without have to spend $2-3 a shot.
Is this possible or would I be better off getting two different weapons?
Is the 5.56 powerful enough to take down an adult tiger or do I need something larger?
If the 5.56 would work I as thinking about a Daniel Defense M4V5 with a two stage trigger, or a SR-15. I really like the SR-15 but worry about availability of the proprietary components.
Any advice is appreciated!
Thanks
Nightwin
ps. sorry for the long post but hate when someone asks "what should I get?" without letting you know what they are going to use it for or why.