Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   Gas Tube Removal (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/gas-tube-removal-30165/)

Tackleberry1 08-07-2010 06:27 PM

Gas Tube Removal

Having some failure to feed issues with my bushy. many, many, many rounds through her over 8 years. gas rings seem ok and spaced properly. thought i'd pull the gas tube for cleaning/inspection but i've never done it before.

1. any special tools needed?
2. no idea where to start

i would appreciate a step by step from you AR builders out there.

Thanks

TACK

Dzscubie 08-07-2010 06:54 PM

Tack,

Have you checked the gas key on the bolt carrier to make sure it has not gotten loose this can allow for gas to escape and cause your rifle to short stroke.

Gatekeeper 08-07-2010 07:01 PM

Sent you a PM Tack

Jpyle 08-07-2010 09:45 PM

Assuming all goes well with removal I would recommend just replacing it. They cost about $20 and it's no harder to put a new one back on plus you eliminate any guesswork about the old one. Aside from fouling the ends can mushroom or disfigure causing an improper seat in the key.

Quentin 08-07-2010 11:23 PM

I'm with Dzscubie, might as well be absolutely certain the gas key and rings are good before tackling the gas tube. The tube usually is pretty much self cleaning and normally doesn't foul up. The tip that mates with the gas key can oval out and make for a poor gas seal.

Oh, I guess you're saying the rifle short strokes?

wjkuleck 08-08-2010 04:18 AM

Remove the roll pin that secures the gas tube to the front sight block/gas block. Pull the gas tube rearward out of the block. There is a handy-dandy little tool available to grab the tube without damaging it. However, if you are replacing the tube, feel free to mar the tube with pliers or vise grips or whatever.