Gas piston worth the added cost?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Gas piston worth the added cost?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2012, 05:31 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Gas piston worth the added cost?

So I am new at this and doing my research I see that many reviews cheer the gas piston models but they are so much more expensive. Is it worth the added cots to eliminate the carbon build up and claims of higher reliability? I have a 1,000 limit for my first purchase but seems hard to find an ar-15 for that price.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-27-2012, 05:42 AM   #2

Liked 1070 Times on 753 Posts
Likes Given: 1075

No need to pay extra for a piston over a DI AR, especaily for your first AR. Most of the claims of piston superiority are just hype to separate you from more money. There are millions of DI guns that have performed just fine.

______
The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together. You'll remember the quality of a gun long after you forget how much you paid for it.

Old 02-27-2012, 05:45 AM   #3

Thats what I thought but I see allot on google searches and reviews....maybe biased reviewers.

Old 02-27-2012, 05:51 AM   #4

Also, technically the DI AR has an internal piston - the bolt carrier group which gets a shove directly from the gas impulse instead of indirectly from an out of line piston rod which can cause carrier tilt.

______