Franken-AR... would appreciate any input/info...
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Franken-AR... would appreciate any input/info...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2014, 06:08 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 61 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 189

Default Franken-AR... would appreciate any input/info...

Ok... here I am again needing information and input.

This is always my go to place when something like this comes up. First off, I am NOT an AR expert or a gunsmith, I am simply a guy who likes firearms. I know a little, but more importantly I know that I don't know enough.

Now on to the story...

My brother decided to buy an AR not long after the Sandy Hook situation. I tend to be the families "go to" guy on gun stuff so he asked me about it. I told him at the time that I, personally, would be uncomfortable with this purchase - both the price and the lack of information. I also told him that it was his money and if he felt comfortable with the principals... do what he thought was best.

This AR was a "custom build" a friend of a friend put together for a guy, and when it was finished the guy "couldn't come up with the money" and the builder needed to move it; so he could give my brother a "good deal".

Shortly thereafter my brother called me and said that the thing wouldn't sight in he couldn't hardly even get it on paper, let alone bullseyes. My brother lives 400 miles away from me. After a couple of months, I got up to my brothers and could tell that the front sight (gas block?) was visibly out of line with the rear sight. I showed my brother and he took it back to the guy to get it "fixed".