First time firing at the range-not good....
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > First time firing at the range-not good....

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2011, 07:10 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Likes Given: 1

Default First time firing at the range-not good....

I took my rifle out for the first time today, and didn't do well at the range. I ran into some issues, and shot pretty crappy. This is the first time I've ever shot a rifle, let alone an AR, so I'm totally new to this.

First thing was trying to get the sights right. I have a set of Magpul buis, and a Barska red dot sight. I've googled how to set the sights up right, and even borrowed a laser bore sighter, but they are obviously not right. Starting with the red dot, when I first put it on, it looked like the dot was up and to the right. I played with the knobs while using the bore sight, and I felt as though it was centered over the front sight. The buis, I adjusted them, or so I thought. Anyway, I shot about 40% on paper at 25 yards. Most shots on the first round of 50 were high, second round were low. Terrible. I really liked the feel of the rifle, but was pretty down about how bad I did.

I noticed a few people had spotting scopes; I know that would really help along with the neon targets. I was using regular paper, and couldn't tell what I hit until I was able to go up to the target.

Out of the first 40 rounds, I had 7 FTF using new Federal ammo. I noticed the primer on all of them had been struck, but it didn't look like it was deep enough to fire it, (compared to other spent casings). I don't know if this is a rifle issue, or a primer issue.