Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   first ar build ?'s (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/first-ar-build-s-76638/)

jwalsh66 11-18-2012 06:10 PM

first ar build ?'s

So I just got done assembling most of the lower on my first ar build. I was testing out the trigger, hammer and sear to make sure everything was functioning correctly but noticed that as I'm squeezing the trigger back while the hammer is engaged if feels gritty. Now I'm a machinist by trade (not a machine operator) and know that no matter how good the finish looks there are always going to be some mill marks. Just wondering if this is normal. Incase it matters any it is a daniel defense lpk in a psa lower. Thanks for your help.

Quentin 11-18-2012 09:03 PM

It's common for a milspec trigger to be gritty. It can improve over time but don't expect a real smooth trigger at milspec cost.

jwalsh66 11-18-2012 09:13 PM

Its pretty heavy also is that pretty standard of a mil-spec trigger? I guess I might have to upgrade. But why the extra cost then?

purehavoc 11-18-2012 09:25 PM

Mil.spec.triggers seem to vary a lot I have purchased 9 of them from PSA and out of 9 only one was what I would call terrible. Sand like gritty feel. The rest have been fabulous and the most recent one was as good or better than my favorite reworked trigger and this one was straight out of the bag.
My brother in-law just had to buy a Daniel defense lower parts kit and it was real gritty also. However DD is going to send him another one. They said it should not have been like that. I guess we will see when it shows up

jwalsh66 11-18-2012 10:15 PM