Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   First AR build, need buttstock help. (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/first-ar-build-need-buttstock-help-77585/)

BodySnatcher 12-03-2012 04:10 AM

First AR build, need buttstock help.

Gentlemen, I am looking to build my first AR. I am wanting to build it as a long range piece. 20-24 inch barrel (24 looks like those are hard to find, so probably 20).

I am just getting started with the lower, and working on the wife for more budget money... :rolleyes:

So far I have a Quentin Defense U.S. Army billet lower. (I fell in love with that rollmark.) And a Daniel Defense parts kit. I know at some point I'll need a trigger upgrade.

I am looking at buttstocks and just can't seem to decide between the Tactical Intent TI-7, Ergo F93, and the Magpul ACS (all mil-spec).

Any help deciding between those would be appreciated for the type of shooting I am building for.

If I am way off base on those, please feel free to tell me so, but please propose an alternative. And yes, I know, I should a want a Magpul PRS... the budget officer will not allow that level of expenditure. I need to be in the $150 range for the buttstock, spring, buffer, nut, etc.

Thank you.

Squawk 12-03-2012 04:19 AM

For long range, I'd save up and get the Magpul UBR. Great stock but will cost over $200. I have a ACS-L and a UBR on 2 different AR's. The UBR gets shot a lot more.

The UBR comes with a proprietary buffer tube.

Quentin 12-03-2012 04:30 AM

Great choice on the Quentin Defense U.S. Army billet lower! I have one too that I haven't built up yet. I also have a DD LPK for it and an ACS. Really all I need is the receiver extension, buffer, etc. Don't know why I haven't put it together yet. With a 20" barrel how about the A2 rifle stock?