Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > First AR Build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2012, 06:06 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default First AR Build

Hey all,

I am fairly new to the forum and wanted to pick some of your brains. I am going to start my first AR build very soon. First I am looking to purchase a lower I've been looking at spikes and rock river mainly. Today I was on Aimsurplus.com when I stumbled across the R Guns receiver(as pictured)
I was curious if they are of good quality compared to RR or spikes. Also what the difference was between this receiver and all the other stripped lowers. Is it just that it has the ramp, ejection door, and forward assist? Also I am wanting to put together the lower and buy an upper since uppers are more complex to work on. I am new to the AR world so I will have a lot of questions and any advice will be much appreciated!

image-3600147004.jpg  

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-12-2012, 07:07 PM   #2

Liked 47 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Welcome Savage!!

http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/ar15-primer-beginners-guide-59600/

That's where I'd start the journey on building an AR. While the lower isn't that difficult to build, the upper can require some really specialized tools and such, so I'd recommend building your lower yourself, and then ordering the upper from a reputable source.
The questions needed answered to help you on this are as follows: