First ar - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > First ar

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2012, 10:15 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

I was not asking about barrel steel and twist. I was told there was better and was asking if anyone else new the difference in 4140 and4150 my barrel is 4140 I am a machinist have been for thirteen years. I work with these materials on almost a daily basis.

Old 01-29-2012, 10:48 PM   #12

Liked 1004 Times on 705 Posts
Likes Given: 1004

If you're a machinist you must work with different carbon steels and have opinions on hardness and longevity. 4140 is cheaper and easier to work with. 4150 is more durable, especially under hard use. 4150 costs more, you have to decide whether it's worth it to you.

______
The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together. You'll remember the quality of a gun long after you forget how much you paid for it.

Old 01-29-2012, 11:53 PM   #13

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Slight bit more carbon helps with heat treating

Old 01-30-2012, 01:02 AM   #14

Liked 19 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjkeat View Post
Not horrible but you could have purchaced something like a BCM at the same price point.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjkeat View Post
Do some looking around and compare price to specs such as barrel steel, twist rate, proper assembly, QC, CS.
This.

I had a Stag 2T and really enjoyed it. For range trips and a couple hundred rounds each month or so it will do you fine.

With that said I built my own with BCM, DD, and Troy parts. I would consider it to be a SHTF build and I wanted the best I could get.