Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   First AR-15 Build...here I go! (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/first-ar-15-build-here-i-go-28708/)

CHLChris 06-25-2010 05:44 PM

First AR-15 Build...here I go!

With this country a-changin' and my RKBA muscle a-twitchin', I started looking for a rifle that could hunt small game and repel zombie hordes, if necessary. At first I thought the Mini-14. But for just a $100-200 more I could build my own black rifle. Woohoo!

Here I go.

For just a bit of background, since I hope this thread is an inspiration to others in similar shoes, I am pretty new to firearms. A couple years ago I saw something on the horizon I didn't like. I bought a handgun, started training (it's a never-ending process...), and got licensed to carry a concealed handgun. I take that role in my community very seriously and carry everywhere it is allowed.

Just 3 months ago I didn't even know I could actually build my own rifle. I still don't know how to do it. But I can rip out a kitchen to the studs and do the whole thing, so I can figure this one out, I'm sure. And with the help of others on this forum I will succeed.

I plan to keep photos coming along with a description of my efforts. This won't be a tutorial thread. I'll leave that to others. It will be a "You can do it, too!" thread. I believe I can, therefore I WILL!

CHLChris 06-25-2010 05:49 PM

Bought the stripped lower

2 Attachment(s)
I went to my local gun shop, Keith's Sporting Goods in Gresham, OR. I was thinking I would order something online and pay for the transfer, but that would have totaled out around $130, so I bought something they had on sale!

Surplus Ammo & Arms, Lakewood, WA, stripped lower $80 plus $10 OR fee

The only weird thing is that the lower doesn't say "fire" and "safe", it has picture icons, see below.

Total: $90