end of the world build - Page 2
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion >

end of the world build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 01:02 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by TankTop View Post
My second post today as a total noob. I haven't even bought anything yet, but I would love for some people to share their ultimate builds just to drool over.
This thread has changed flavors.
'End Of The World BUILD' can mean several things.
The most extreme accuracy.
The most extreme options mounted.
Most functional, for SHTF needs and use.

For the first selection, long/longer heavy barrels add weight, stability, greater velocity possibilities but not necessarily any better accuracy. (Longer sighing radius with iron sight not included, think scopes/optical sights.) I have one with a heavy 20 inch stainless tube, I don't relish the thoughts of carrying it about while hunting. It will still make one ragged hole with 30 rounds at a hundred yards if I do my part.

The next, I don't do SBR, suppressed and after too many years as a cop, don't like/want a target lit up on or near me, so no mounted lights for me. I do have a thing about having two sighting means available. I have a regular scope AND a red dot mounted on one weapon, but no irons.

The last listing from above. Less is more or better. Less to break, go bad, fail, need batteries. Lighter weight weapon equates to more ammo can be carried. For me, I'm too old and broken to contemplate being 'on the run', so mobility holds little weight for me.

There are many threads displaying a great realm of weapons and configurations. Extreme is just that. I prefer simple and functional.

OSOK

Old 08-28-2012, 01:20 PM   #12
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1059 Times on 569 Posts

Quote: