Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   DPMS sportical question.. (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/dpms-sportical-question-66044/)

The_Mapex_Killer 06-08-2012 02:49 PM

DPMS sportical question..

Im new to the AR world but not new to rifles.. Mostly only shot AK,sks,mausers and handguns so need a little info...

Ok I found a new DPMS Sportical for $640+tax in a local shop and of course the Guy says yea its great and what have you(but I don't listen to sell people lol).. I want real people to tell me if this is a good starting AR.. keep in mind I don't want to spend the $800+ on one at the moment but in the future I would like to upgrade so brings me to another question: would I be able to swap the upper on this rifle with a better one in the future after I get a good idea of how the rifle performs?? I mainly want to know if you can swap parts like upper and lowers on these sportical rifles like most of the other AR 15 rifles out there.. Please help and thanks for your info.. Oh and if you own one of these please inform me on how they shoot and what upgrades are necessary..thanks..

Quentin 06-08-2012 03:01 PM

You should be able to swap uppers on that. But first look at the S&W Sport in that price range.

The_Mapex_Killer 06-08-2012 03:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Quentin
You should be able to swap uppers on that. But first look at the S&W Sport in that price range.

Ok thanks for your input and the same gun shop where I found the dpms they had the s&w m&p I think is what its called and its about $80 more but the Guy did say that both of the guns internals are pretty much the same.. is that true??

Quentin 06-08-2012 03:46 PM

What did he mean by the same? They may be interchangeable but I'd expect better quality in the SW. Compare them and see for yourself. I am not a fan of the Sportical.