Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Dpms?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2012, 03:52 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 991 Times on 499 Posts
Likes Given: 2547

Default Dpms?

Looking to get my wife her first Rifle...she's more for aesthetics...i'm trying to teach her the ways in function over form...but it's going to be a long battle.

So far, she hasn't seen a Colt she likes yet... *shaking my head*

She's come across a few she likes, and some of them are DPMS. I have no experience with that company...anyone have any feedback to offer?

They seem "Cheaper" than most...not necessarily a bad thing, just sets off my skepticism a bit.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-09-2012, 04:07 AM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 5272 Times on 2748 Posts
Likes Given: 333

Cheap is a good word for it.

I got a dpms for my wife to get her started. She picked it out because it looked fun... A basic panther m4. Not a great rifle or even a good one. Functional for range use is a good way to look at it. About 2 years later i got her a bcm midlength lightweight and she expressed a desire for a season pass at the range.

I dont know your money situation but any rifle she likes will get her shooting and you can use that as an excuse to get another one later.

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith