Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Dissipator

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2013, 06:57 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AndyRexia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Franklin,North Carolina
Posts: 310
Liked 20 Times on 18 Posts

Default Dissipator

I currently have a carbine length AR-15. I have a free float quad rail and a low pro gas block. I want to turn my upper into a dissipator upper. I'm thinking I will need a barrel nut, delta ring assembly, a handguard cap, and a front sight assembly. Oh and rifle length handguards. What am I missing?



__________________
AndyRexia is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 02-27-2013, 07:02 PM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AndyRexia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Franklin,North Carolina
Posts: 310
Liked 20 Times on 18 Posts

Default

BCM has all of those parts except handguard cap. I'm wanting to put black rifle length MOE handguards. Would I need round or triangle cap?
BCM has two front sight assemblies.

http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/mobile/default.aspx#P1850

http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/mobile/default.aspx#P1849

I would need the taper pin set too? I want to make sure I get all the parts I need. Those sights are to different sizes. What are the differences?



__________________
AndyRexia is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:31 PM   #3
Moderator
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester WI,Rochester WI
Posts: 17,129
Liked 5272 Times on 2748 Posts
Likes Given: 333

Default

Your barrel has to be cut with the proper reliefs for a fixed fsb. Not all are.

__________________

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

JonM is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 12:07 AM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AndyRexia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Franklin,North Carolina
Posts: 310
Liked 20 Times on 18 Posts

Default

So you're saying it would be a pita?

__________________
AndyRexia is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 12:16 AM   #5
Moderator
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester WI,Rochester WI
Posts: 17,129
Liked 5272 Times on 2748 Posts
Likes Given: 333

Default

no. you just need to contact the barrel maker/supplier to see if your barrel has been profiled to mount a fixed fsb if you plann on using one.

__________________

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

JonM is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 12:49 AM   #6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,236
Liked 385 Times on 250 Posts
Likes Given: 1371

Default

For a true dissipator dont you have to move the gas hole on the barrel as well?

__________________
https://www.numbersusa.com/content/

Primary Rifle:
LWRC M6A2 w/ Eotech512

Primary Handgun:
Ruger GP100 Royal Phoenix
bluez is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:58 AM   #7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
SSGN_Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,105
Liked 1963 Times on 1164 Posts
Likes Given: 423

Default

You could get a clamp on front sight, like a folding one from PRI or YHM.

__________________
SSGN_Doc is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 03:05 AM   #8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta,GA
Posts: 67
Liked 28 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluez View Post
For a true dissipator dont you have to move the gas hole on the barrel as well?
That kinda depends....
You could build a dissapator with either a carbine or a mid-length gas system, which remains intact (in the same place) while a front sight base is affixed in front of it. The forward FSB isn't connected to the gas system, of course.
__________________
4thPointOfContact is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 04:31 PM   #9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AgentTikki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: City of Lost Angels, Kommifornia
Posts: 3,444
Liked 335 Times on 264 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default

Yes a true dissy will have a rifle gas system. A mock dissy will have to have 2 gas blocks if you want a fixed FSB up front.

__________________
Assumption is the mother of all ****ups.
Know what you know, Know what you don't know. -Paul Pedzolt
"Jack of all trades, master of none, though oftentimes better than master of one" -Mynshul
AgentTikki is offline  
Jpyle Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 04:59 PM   #10
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta,GA
Posts: 67
Liked 28 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default


Easier than a thousand words, right?


__________________
4thPointOfContact is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a dissipator upper..... Westy AR-15 Discussion 8 01-09-2013 01:20 AM
Dissipator build Gutpile AR-15 Discussion 11 10-04-2011 05:40 AM
Bushmaster Dissipator diggsbakes AR-15 Discussion 3 12-05-2010 06:25 AM
Dissipator? freefall AR-15 Discussion 4 09-03-2010 08:20 AM