Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   delta ring loose, is this normal? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/delta-ring-loose-normal-21903/)

talbertjm 01-07-2010 03:35 AM

delta ring loose, is this normal?

the delta ring is loose on my rifle. it is very new and has only 400 rounds put through it, is this normal? i can move it back and forth about 16th of an inch. i have a bushmaster xm-15 m4 style.

junho806 01-07-2010 04:43 AM

thats odd
is the spring in there?

IGETEVEN 01-07-2010 05:28 AM

Maybe the snap ring is not seated or off a hair and not lined in place against the delta ring and spring assembly.

Jack

slowryde45 01-07-2010 03:39 PM

Some of them are loose, normally not to the point where you can easily move them around. Like Jack said, check that your snap ring is properly seated in the groove.

talbertjm 01-08-2010 02:57 AM

went to gun shop today to check some other ar's, and what do i find out.....i checked a dpms, another bush, and a colt and all the delta rings on those models move also. the dpms moved so much i could feel the spring tension. these were all brand new weapons. i would say its normal. if anybody says different, tell me what you think.

willfully armed 01-08-2010 03:13 AM

The delta ring on my OLY Arms was super-duper tight. No free play whatsoever.

talbertjm 01-08-2010 03:20 AM

hope its normal, just sent bushmaster an email.

slowryde45 01-08-2010 04:29 AM