Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   Considering an AR-15 .22lr build (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/considering-ar-15-22lr-build-69891/)

canyon289 08-08-2012 05:33 AM

Considering an AR-15 .22lr build

I'm relatively new to the world of gun shooting and I've been noticing a lot of AR-15's at my range. I've been looking into piecing one together for the fun of it and had some questions. FYI I live in California.

I plan to shoot .22lr most of the time but would like the option to shoot .223 if the situation arises. I've been doing some research and it looks like for a simple build I just need to put together an upper and a lower.

So my questions are

If I buy these two pieces and put them together will I have a functioning 22 rifle?
http://www.riflegear.com/p-883-cmmg-m4-le-22-lr-evolution-upper.aspx

http://www.riflegear.com/p-1388-new-frontier-lw-15-complete-polymer-lower.aspx

Also I see videos like this where a guy just switches a bolt and a magazine. Would this be possible with the upper and lower combination I posted?

Lastly any comments on the choice of upper and lower? I'll be upfront and say, I picked the cheapest two on the site but the reviews look ok. I'm still reading through the stickies and threads, any advice is appreciated!

russ 08-08-2012 06:04 AM

The upper you listed is a dedicated .22lr upper, meaning it can't be switched out to shoot .223/5.56. I have that same upper and it has been great, so don't rule it out just because of that.

I don't know anything about the particular lower you listed, so I'll reserve any comments on that. I would think however, that it would be perfectly fine for a .22 rifle build.