Concerning "Co-Witnessing" Optics: is it necessary?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Concerning "Co-Witnessing" Optics: is it necessary?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2011, 09:28 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Concerning "Co-Witnessing" Optics: is it necessary?

As much as I love adding extra weight to my rifle, I just can't decide whether or not it's really worth it to utilize an optical sight as well as BUIS. While I have little experience with the AR platform compared to most of you gentlemen, I understand the concept of "ounces are pounds, pounds are a pain." If you already have a reliable optical sight, is it really necessary to have a pair of irons on the gun as well, and vice versa? I get that people wanna be prepared in case the battery runs out or there's some sort of technical malfunction, but that can't be common at all! I personally would prefer having one designated aiming device instead of two. It saves weight and money, I can train twice as hard with it, and in my humble opinion the rifle looks more streamlined and sophisticated.

I'm sure co-witnessing or some form of it is quite common among you guys. Can someone please explain to me why it's so popular? Thank you.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-26-2011, 09:34 PM   #2

Liked 1037 Times on 730 Posts
Likes Given: 1034